Registered & Protected

Tuesday, May 31, 2011

There are 7 distinct stages of grief:

There are 7 distinct stages of grief:
  • Denial
  • Guilt
  • Anger
  • Reflection
  • Cycle Up
  • Reconstruction
  • Acceptance
It is good to be able to name what you are going through, and this is what makes a list like this helpful. When you recognize and name what you are feeling as you grieve, you know how to describe it more accurately to another or find solutions. Naming the points on the cycle of bereavement will help you know that your feelings are natural to the new and painful situation you find yourself in after the death of your spouse.

Another helpful tip to keep in mind is, just as every person is unique, every grief is distinct and personal. It is not uncommon to start the grieving process, work through a few stages and suddenly find yourself back at guilt or anger again. Also, keep in mind that this is not an outline to be strictly followed. Working through your bereavement is an individual process, and the steps you take to deal with your loss will differ in order, length and perhaps magnitude than others coping with the death of a loved one.

No comments:

Post a Comment